Welcome to the official website of author Scott Austin Tirrell. Here, you’ll find a bit about Scott, his work, and his process. Below are his most recent novels.

Dawn of the Lightbearer
Dawn of the Lightbearer

Check out a sample chapter!

Watch the book trailer!

In the lazy streets of Grafton Notch, a colony on the fringe of the Lucardian Empire, Erikson Gray was happy learning how to swing a hammer as an apprentice in his uncle’s blacksmith shop. But a bit of mischief, a mysterious stranger, and a powerful gift launches this unknown peasant onto a path to adventure.

Dawn of the Lightbearer is set in the scarred and dying land of Lucardia- a place of past luster, ancient secrets, sinister plots, and growing tension. After a long and bloody civil war between Emperor Vesper Zulikaarme, the Uniter, and his sons ravaged Erik’s land, the long reign of Vesper will soon come to an end, and his heirs again prepare for war.

Fearsome creatures and evil works still lurk in the shadows of Lucardia, but the land’s mages are old and their memory short. Alchemists have become all the vogue with the flash and bang of their fire powder, and thus, humanity’s magic books collect dust. Practitioners of the ancient arts have become few and far between as humankind’s power increasingly relies on guns. They won’t be enough.

During this time of disunity, a race of powerful giants called the Nephilim slithers on the empire’s periphery, looking to take revenge on humanity for a transgression enacted more than a thousand years in the past. With the realm distracted by the unknown succession, it is now up to Erikson Gray to rediscover how his kind was able to vanquish the Nephilim from their land to forge humanity’s golden age.

But does Erik have the fortitude to stoke his kind’s fire back to vibrancy? Can he make the sacrifices required to defeat such a fearsome foe? And, does he have the will to confront the horrors of humanity’s past? Or, after a thousand years of war, strife, and ravaging nature’s gifts, is it time for human civilization to fall and allow the true stewards of the land to again ascend their throne? Find out. Dawn of the Lightbearer, book 1 of the Absolution of the Morning Star series, is available now!

Watch the book trailer!

In 1241, the year of the bull, an ancient evil awakens in the vast Steppe to the east, growing strong on fields of suffering. It has been 800 years since the Radix Obscurum threatened the Christian world through its servant and first oceanic ruler, Attila. Now, the second darkness, the spawn of Genghis, rides with wind in their hair and blood on their swords, eager to spread their dark empire to the western ocean.

After eight centuries of waiting, the order forged to protect Christendom from this ancient menace, the League of the Lion, sleeps and its once powerful weapons dull. Europe is fractured, and corruption stains its heart black. Hope is slim. But one remains to stand before this growing shadow, an unlikely hero, the orphan Isa. Bestowed with his dying faith’s most potent secrets, he marches forth on his long quest to slay this dark bull. On his journey, he will make friends and forge alliances that will last lifetimes, but ultimately his is a solitary burden that will be greater than anyone could imagine. Is this duty to be the Christian world’s salvation, or is his destiny something more?

The Slaying of the Bull is rich with real people, places, and events. Although the story is fiction, the world it sprouts from was all too real and undoubtedly terrifying. Step back to a time when faith was close, the stakes high, and existence a perilous struggle.

This is the first book of the upcoming Tocharian Gospels Series. This collection will follow Isa as he carves his path through history on a crusade to tear humanity from the grip of darkness and bring us back to the light.

Watch the book trailer!

Deep in the woods, there sits a lone cabin on a crystalline lake. The dwelling is not necessarily unknown, but the locals avoid it for a good reason. The Island of Stone has a history, and since that time, the branches are a little too clawing, the wind whispers, and the shadows stir beneath the pines.

This place now belongs to Trevor Benton. Left to him in his wife’s will, it’s a complete mystery. In life, Valarie shared everything with him, yet this island remained a secret. Why? Just before Trevor can discover the answer, the pull of his business empire distracts him. Now, after six years of being engrossed in a booming cut-throat world of greed, Trevor yearns for an escape. The Island of Stone seems a perfect respite. He can step away from the bustle to clear his head and finally get answers to the island’s puzzle.

But although the Island of Stone is a land of untouched beauty, Trevor will soon find that it is not a place to relax. As the sun dips low and the shadows devour the land, dark and ancient secrets blow through the trees, secrets that will change Trevor more than he can imagine.

Son of the Mourning

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.

10 thoughts on “Home

  1. I like the way you have written up your books, Scott. Excellent. And thankyou so much for being such a regular visitor to my page. I do hope you enjoy the ‘live’ readings. I am having great fun with them, as you can imagine. All best wishes,

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started